Books · Children · Religious

Hedge of Thorns Review

The art of giving a book talk is simple, chat about the work in such a way as to rouse the listener’s interest. The end goal is readers.

When I attended Mark Hamby’s lecture at the 2009 Cincinnati Homeschool Convention, not only was I inspired to continue to teach my kids and give them every opportunity to read great literature; but I also tucked away a must read from a short informal book talk that he threw between the folds of his seminar.

!RCHOT

This beautiful story first published in 1611, was eloquently penned by a man who clearly learned the lessons that he brought upon himself.  Aptly titled, he absorbs the truth that God sets hedges around us for our benefit and protection.

The first temptation to look beyond the limits was an actual hedge constructed of thorns from which the family’s children were forbidden.  Giving his heart over to sin causes great harm to a beloved sibling and when he discovers what lay beyond the hedge the heart was moved.

My reading was silent and yet the scriptures and teaching that was spoken over the young boy drew my heart as well. I am confident that when it is time to read this to my children, there will be questions and discoveries by each of them that will be etched on their hearts.
I delight in Lamplighter books for this reason, my little scholars are tuning their ears towards vintage writings with amazing vocabulary.  More then that, they are taking in the scriptural principals that are being painted in the imagination and then living them out in life.

I highly recommend Hedge of Thorns and Lamplighter Publishing.

A complimentary copy of the book will be giving in exchange for this review which is my true opinion.

Leave a Reply

