Books · Religious · Reviews

Global Soccer Mom by Shayne Moore {Review}

0310325587I sighed setting down Global Soccer Mom by Shayne Moore. I knew what she meant when she wrote, “..and pretend to care about potty training, what sports team the kids did or did not make, and manicures.” (pg.46) Finishing the third chapter reminded me of being in my tiny Florida living room with some women chatting about thread count of sheets. They were talking and I was listening because I could not have cared less. 

As I read about Shayne’s heart breaking for the extreme poverty and AIDS in Africa and her coming to terms with the fact that not everyone around her felt the same way. I could relate. It gave words and a story to what I remember feeling and wondering about. My life was not the same as the moms and women around me. I was not collecting things (except books) nor decorating a home because our goal was to sell everything and move to South America. I felt like an outsider at times. Perhaps you understand that feeling too.

As I moved through Shayne’s stories, I was in awe at the ways God compelled her towards and into some really big situations. I will admit that her quest toward helping in global social justice at times looked pretty glamorous; I was not feeling sorry for her sacrifice much of the book. At the same time, it shows what one woman can do when her heart is stirred and sometimes that ends up looking very different then we imagine. She weaves beautiful memories that make moms want to do more and watch for opportunities to get involved themselves.

Maybe God is moving your heart to join the ranks of moms doing missional acts big and small. If you are interested specifically in social justice issues, this book is full of statistics and ideas to help you get started. It was an inspiring read.

What is one thing you can do this week to live missionally and start following your passion?  {Read Danielle’s journey to following her passion posted last week.}

This book was given to me by Zondervan in exchange for my honest review. I do not endorse all the resources mentioned in her book.

One thought on “Global Soccer Mom by Shayne Moore {Review}

Leave a Reply

