Books · Religious · Reviews

Not a Fan. by Kyle Idleman {Book Review}

0310331951Not a Fan: Becoming a Completely Committed Follower of Jesus
by Kyle Idleman

Fan or Follower? In our celebrity and sports driven culture, we know what it means to be a fan. Most of us determine our answer to the question based on cultural or denominational measurements. Or we identify our answer with some religious rituals or traditions. Not a Fan examines and reveals what it means to go beyond simply being an enthusiastic admirer to being a completely committed Follower of Jesus. (Synopsis from Zondervan)

My Thoughts:

Not a Fan by Kyle Idleman is set up to challenge ones idea of what faith and following Christ looks like. Kyle takes a look at how fans view life and how followers see the same thing. The book is convicting even for the most faithful follower. For me, Idleman’s writing was a reminder of why I am a follower and not a fan. The book caused me to ponder areas in which I can grow; I was especially challenged by the “Take Up Your Cross Daily” chapter.

The size and layout of Not a Fan is inviting. The clear, shorter chapters are perfect for a devotional before bed or a quick, weekly book club read. I like how Idleman always included scripture, some historical anecdotes, and/or a Biblical story that illustrated where he was headed in each chapter. However, my favorite part of the book is the testimonies included at the end of each chapter. The first one gave me chills. For me, reading real people who deal with hard issues and follow Jesus often gives the courage needed to keep going. 

One caution I would suggest is to read Not a Fan only as it concerns you. Without being careful, you might find yourself starting to judge other people (who is a fan and who is a follower) which could be easy to do. Instead, I would encourage you to be mindful and allow it to be a very personal journey asking God to reveal to you where you need to work in your relationship with Him.

I think most followers will find this a helpful book as they seek to know God more and grow in areas that are lacking. I am just guessing here, but I think most fans will quickly stop reading and those who proceed may just find their hearts and lives changed. I am certain that is the author’s purpose and I am praying that is what occurs.

You can find out more about Not a Fan here.

This book was given to me in exchange for my honest review.  I was not required to write a positive review.

3 thoughts on “Not a Fan. by Kyle Idleman {Book Review}

Leave a Reply

