Books · Religious · Reviews

I Am Second by Dave Sterrett and Doug Bender {Book Review and How My Book Was Stolen}

by Dave Sterrett and Doug Bender

Description:

Countless stories. One incredible ending.

A major league baseball player. a Tennessee pastor. A reality TV star. a single mom. A multi-platinum rocker. What do these people have in common? They’ve all hit bottom. And none of them stayed there.

Famous or unfamiliar, these are the stories of real people who reached the end of their strength, the end of their control, and found the most surprising truths. It taught them not to rely on self or substance but to lean on the only completely reliable source of love, hope, and freedom: the God who created them. Shocking in their honesty, inspiring in their courage, these testimonies are critical reminders that no one is too far from God to find him.

Join these and thousands more who have discovered the lifechanging power in putting God first and proclaiming, “I am Second.

Description from Thomas Nelson.

My Thoughts:

I Am Second is a book of stories, short glimpses into how God profoundly turned sinners to Himself. Each chapter stands alone, but a few overlap in a beautiful way just as our real lives do.

Each story encourages the reader that God is still working in powerful ways. It is a reminder to those already living second, that we are called to share the gospel and live out God’s love in our lives. Reading testimonies can rekindle our first love so we can also say with conviction, “I Am Second!”

My Book Was Stolen:

I was reading I Am Second daily, one chapter at a time. One evening, I took it with me in the car. At the last minute, we decided to stop for ice cream downtown a large city in Bolivia. The car was parked on a side street with no one watching  the vehicle which was a mistake we won’t make again. Coming back to the car, we could not get my door open and noticed papers were scattered about the front seats. We had been robbed. After a good look around, the only things missing were the front of the car stereo and my I Am Second review book. It struck me so funny, in a country where Spanish is the spoken language that someone would want my English book full of God at work changing lives. I have prayed since then that the book will land in the hands of people who speak and read English. {Lord, use that book to change lives especially the ones who took it in the first place.}

Connect with I Am Second:

I believe both the book and the I Am Second web site, can make a difference. Perhaps you can think of someone who would benefit from reading I Am Second.

Buy the book, watch videos, or follow on Twitter.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

2 thoughts on “I Am Second by Dave Sterrett and Doug Bender {Book Review and How My Book Was Stolen}

Leave a Reply

