Books · Religious · Reviews

Loving the Way Jesus Loves by Phil Ryken {Book Review}

 
 










Description:

Most people are familiar with the “Love Chapter” of the Bible, 1 Corinthians 13, yet Phil Ryken has something fresh to say. Drawing on the life and ministry of Jesus to illustrate what love is and isn’t, Ryken brings a unique perspective to this commonly quoted passage.

Loving the Way Jesus Loves successfully integrates biblical teaching, photography, chapter study guides, and a popular-level writing style—all of which will help you understand the profound love of Christ more deeply and, in turn, learn to love more deeply in response.

(from Crossway)

My Thoughts:

When a book starts with, “There is nothing I need more in my life than more of the love of Jesus.”, you know you are in for a reality check on your own spiritual life. Just the first paragraph alone had me on my knees asking God to change the way I love. The first chapter helping me reframe the lens in which I view 1 Corinitians 13. 

We then meandered chapter by chapter through those famous wedding verses learning that the intent was so much deeper and wider then just between man and wife. It’s a challenge to live for God by living and loving like Him. Phrase by phrase, we are reminded the intent as well as challenged to love in ways that can only be accomplished because of the cross.

Loving the Way Jesus Loves was one of my top reads for 2012. If you could you see my copy, this would be evident by the underlining. I highly recommend it!

This book was given to me by Crossway in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. 

Leave a Reply

