The Very Worst Missionary by Jaime Wright {Book Review}

Description:

“The reason you love Jamie (or are about to) is because she says exactly what the rest of us are thinking, but we’re too afraid to upset the apple cart. She is a voice for the outlier, and we’re famished for what she has to say.” –Jen Hatmaker, New York Times bestselling author of Of Mess and Moxieand For the Love

Wildly popular blogger “Jamie the Very Worst Missionary” delivers a searing, offbeat, often hilarious memoir of spiritual disintegration and re-formation.

As a quirky Jewish kid and promiscuous punkass teen, Jamie Wright never imagines becoming a Christian, let alone a Christian missionary. She is barely an adult when the trials of motherhood and marriage put her on an unexpected collision course with Jesus. After finding her faith at a suburban megachurch, Jamie trades in the easy life on the cul-de-sac for the green fields of Costa Rica. There, along with her family, she earnestly hopes to serve God and change lives. But faced with a yawning culture gap and persistent shortcomings in herself and her fellow workers, she soon loses confidence in the missionary enterprise and falls into a funk of cynicism and despair.
Nearly paralyzed by depression, yet still wanting to make a difference, she decides to tell the whole, disenchanted truth: Missionaries suck and our work makes no sense at all! From her sofa in Central America, she launches a renegade blog, Jamie the Very Worst Missionary, and against all odds wins a large and passionate following. Which leads her to see that maybe a “bad” missionary–awkward, doubtful, and vocal—is exactly what the world and the throngs of American do-gooders need.
The Very Worst Missionary is a disarming, ultimately inspiring spiritual memoir for well-intentioned contrarians everywhere. It will appeal to readers of Nadia Bolz-Weber, Jen Hatmaker, Ann Lamott, Jana Reiss, Mallory Ortberg, and Rachel Held Evans.
(from NetGalley)

My Thoughts:

I read and followed Jamie’s blog many years back when I was also on the mission field, so I was fully aware of what I would be getting with this book. I am not bothered by cursing, but I will admit some of her unconventionally irreverent descriptions of things even made this easy-going reader a little uncomfortable. It is part of her plan and please know going in that that is not the point. Please see past all that for the point.

Be prepared to pull your boots up and be slapped around a bit. The author holds nothing back. She will make you look at your own life in a new way as she lays hers open for inspection. Her authenticity and humor will hold you as you read her crazy antics, and possibly your heart will be changed.

My “Missional Mama” blog title paled in comparison to the ultra cool swag like name, “Jaime, The Very Worst Missionary”. I was a little envious. Being a former missionary, I think it is very pertinent that you understand that what she is saying about missions was also what I experienced. I had many quandaries about being in South America and if what we were doing was in fact worth the huge sacrifices being made to keep us there. There were so many questions and not many answers. Plus we dealt with the craziness of life abroad including electrical house fires, boils, having money stolen, our car being broken into, and deep depression. So, her stories resonated from a place of understanding and head nodding.

This is an important conversation starter. Please read this book with friends and talk about what stirs your heart. Give it to your Pastors and leaders, your friends interested in missions, and send it to your missionaries. Look deeply at the conversation Jaime is starting here and see what is your part in the next best thing to do.

*This book was given to me by NetGally in exchange for my honest review. 

Advertisements

Blue Apron Review

My brother invited me to try Blue Apron. He enjoys the grab ingredients and start cooking right away aspect of the service.

My box arrived on Saturday. It was wrapped inside an insulated box that was kept cold with ice. The meat was safely at the bottom between ice packs. I immediately took the entire pack and placed it in my fridge.

The first meal was Salmon & Dukkah – Spiced Vegetables. Each meal comes with a recipe card that gives very easy, clear directions and turns you into a gourmet chef.

It tasted amazing! The flavors in the vegetables was outstanding. The Salmon was perfect! There is not waste (as you use everything) but there was leftovers.

The second meal was Beef Medallions & Scallion Salsa Verde. Again the vegetables were popping with flavor along with the outstanding salsa over the beef.

I am amazed at how great both meals were. They were easy and fun with only olive oil needed to finish the recipes. The portions were satisfying. It truly gave me more insight into how much I actually need to cook at mealtime.  I am excited about trying future meals from Blue Apron.

* There are no links at this time. I was gifted these as free meals from my brother. It seems you are able to send meals after you have ordered a couple times. 

What I Am Into {February 2018 Edition}

I have always wanted a seating area in my bedroom. My place is finally big enough and I found this beautiful piece on Facebook Marketplace. I sit here every morning to read and journal and many times in the evening too. I just love it.

Read in February

Present Over Perfect by Shauna Niequist – I listen to this on Overdrive. It was full of Niequist’s thoughts and stories on living authentically. It was not mind blowing, but I still found it encouraging and worth listening.

The One (The Selection) and The Heir (The Selection) by Kiera Cass – Part of The Selection series, these young adult distopian books are a fun, light read.

Troublemaker: Surviving Hollywood and Scientology by Leah Remini – Memoirs are my favorite genre especially when they are about something beyond my personal experiences. This life story details a rising TV star and her life in Scientology.

<a href="http://Every Child a Super Reader: 7 Strengths to Open a World of Possible“>Every Child a Super Reader by Pam Allyn and Earnest Morrell – This book, geared towards teachers, did not have anything new; what it did have was great ideas to try. If you are a teacher, this could be a great resource for ideas.

My reading goal for 2018 is to read 52 books. I am now 13 down.

TV & Movies

Black Panther  – WOW! I was so surprised at how much I enjoyed this film. Except for a few of the violent scenes where I closed my eyes, I was completely emersed.

The Goldbergs – It took one glorious clip from an episode about the Karate Kid to see I was missing out. I started at the beginning and laughed my way through 80’s pop culture memories brought to life with one obnoxiously dressed sMother and her family. I will very likely rewatch this series.

Favorites:

Golden Milk – After reading about the benefits of Turmeric, I started drinking this hot beverage with almond milk as a replacement for my nightly glass of wine.

Podcasts:

The Intermittent Fasting Podcast – I started fasting on 2/9 at 6:45 p.m. I had read about it numerous times while doing Keto but it seemed overwhelming. I am not sure why but after reading a Facebook update by a friend, I was ready and started immediately. I then found out one of my friends had been doing it as well with good results. When I start something new, I generally learn as much as I can. Listening and reading helps me stay the course. In nineteen days, I have lost 5.2 lbs.

February Things:

I started a new venture. Revital U is a company that sells smart coffee. The weight loss benefit is why many people get involved. The friend who introduced me to it has lost 20 lbs since November 2017 without dieting. I never lose weight that easily, but am giving it a go. What I like about it is the endless energy and focus. One of my local friends keeps telling me she likes the way it suppresses her appetite. If you want to try it, click HERE. For $4.87 you will get a three day sample to see for yourself why it is called “smart” coffee.

What have you been into?

*Affiliate links included in this blog post